Why Are Rice Krispies Not Vegan?

Unless you have been eating cereal for decades, you may not know that Rice Krispies are not vegan. The fact is that they contain vitamin D3, which is derived from animals.

This vitamin is added to the cereal during production to make the cereal more nutritious.

Vitamin D3 is derived from lanolin, an oil-like substance that is found in sheep’s wool. Most vegans avoid vitamin D supplements as they are not considered cruelty-free.

There are a few ways you can get vitamin D on a vegan diet. You can use vegan vitamin D from plants, or you can eat foods containing Vitamin D3.

The downside is that getting on a vegan diet is not easy.

You may not have realized that the malt in Rice Krispies cereal is derived from barley, which is not vegan. You may also have noticed that the sugar in the cereal is processed with bone char, which is derived from animal bones.

The ingredients in Rice Krispies cereal aren’t all that different from those in other breakfast cereals. They include sugar, salt, malt flavoring, and vitamin D3.

You may have noticed that the original Kellogg’s Rice Krispies are not vegan. If you have been eating the name brand, you probably don’t think much about the animal ingredients.

However, there are several other brands that don’t contain these ingredients. There are also some generic versions of Rice Krispies that don’t use vitamin D fortification.

If you’re worried about vitamin D3, you should contact Kellogg’s for more information.

See Also: Are Rice Krispies Just Puffed Rice

Similar Posts